documenting my journey to becoming more marketable

This is my first post. I just have to throw this out there and you can throw it right back,  this blog will not be perfect.  I am a writer, but we all make mistakes after a long day, or not enough coffee.

I feel like I need to give a little background.  My Mema is 85 years old and she is KICKIN’.  I really hope when I grow up I can be just like her.  Everyone who has met Mema, even for a second, knows how special she is.  She lights up a room and is one of the most positive people.

She and I are extremely close… we have weekly sleepovers to catch up and I enjoy the time with her.

BECOMING MARKETABLE

Mema first started talking about making me marketable after I got out of a long-term relationship.

She wants me to know the basics:

–       cooking

–       cleaning

–       gardening

Cooking is an ongoing lesson… mema is an amazing cook, and well, I can only cook eggs so these stories should lead to some laughs for all who read.

Cleaning is by far the easiest. I’m no housewife, but I can clean a space and make it look nice.  These lessons have been the easiest so far.

Gardening…. Yikes…. I’m not sure if this is even desired anymore? What do you think?  Does a woman need to be able to plant flowers? Herbs?

At any rate, I tried it. I have these lovely flower boxes that really do brighten my life and flowers by my mailbox… of course now they are dead, but it’s winter!  They had to die at some point!

So this blog will chronicle all of the ups and downs… and mostly the fails, but at least it’s good for a laugh, right?!

6 thoughts on “documenting my journey to becoming more marketable

  1. I LOVE the new blog! This is such a great way to capture memories of you & your Mema! Looking forward to reading more entries! =)

  2. This makes me so happy! Mema is lucky to have such a great grandchild, it is very obvious that she gave you many qualities that i admire!

    i love you both

  3. hi Jill…love the blog…it is fun seeing pictures of you two. I miss mema..it is fun to hear her advice…maybe she could write an advice column for the Tallahassee Democrat!

    Love you!
    Mom

  4. Jill, Joylyn had a garden last year, and she got a lot of satisfaction out of working in it. Personally, I got a lot of satisfaction out of the fresh tomatoes!

Leave a Reply

