“There’s no fool like an old fool”

Today is going to be *Throwback Thursday*

Every now and then I am going to share one of my favorite Mema stories.   I have inherited much of her love-for-life spirit, and I am truly grateful for that.

[The girls in Mexico. love y’all]

There are a few CLASSIC Mema stories, and this is one of them:

About six years ago, I was celebrating my birthday in Mexico with three of my best friends and family.

The days consisted of laying around the pool & beach, surfing, and eating/drinking way too much.

My grandmother and grandfather came along on the trip… which is saying a lot because four twenty-year-olds, and my brother (17 at the time) tend to get a little rowdy.

[It’s not a Chandler family trip if dance offs aren’t involved!]

For my 20th birthday we went to a bar in downtown Cabo where they serve the [standard] foot-long margaritas.  After one of those bad boys, we were ready to dance.

All of my girlfriends and I got on top of the table in the middle of the bar and started to dance the night away…. CUE TO SEEING MEMA SITTING AT THE TABLE LIKE A NORMAL PERSON…I thought to myself, this is not ok.

We all started the “MEMA” chant until she agreed to stand up and hop on the table with us…of course, it didn’t take THAT much convincing!

Mema got on the table and took a trip to funky town with the rest of us girls… When people at the bar started to notice an 80-year-old dancing on the table we re-started the “MEMA chant” and had the whole bar erupting in applause.

We found these missing photos on my grandfathers camera a few days after he passed, and they surely brought smiles to our faces after some very long days.

Enjoy 🙂

And as Mema always says “There’s no fool like an old fool”

Future *Throwback Thursday* Teasers:

–       tequila and brownies

–        beer pong champion

5 thoughts on ““There’s no fool like an old fool”

  1. Pingback: Egg Plant Party | becomingmarketable

  2. Pingback: Florida State vs. Clemson « becomingmarketable

  3. Pingback: Happy Birthday Mema « becomingmarketable

Leave a Reply

