10 Things I have learned from my Grandmother

In honor of Mother’s Day, and all the Mom’s out there, I figured I would write a list of the top ten things I have learned from my Mema:

  1. It’s not always 50/50. Sometimes you have to give more when your partner can’t and vice versa. It’s all about the give and take.
  2. Make your own fun. This is something she always tells me. Whether we are going on a road trip or just out to dinner, we make our own fun and make the best out of even the worst situations.
  3. Treat everyone with kindness. You are no better than any one else, and you never know what someone is going through. Offer a smile and a hello – you never know how it can affect their day.
  4. Don’t take yourself too seriously. The party animal herself has made this one clear. If you can’t laugh at yourself, who can?
  5. Love comes in all forms. It’s in family, adoption, friends that have turned into family. Love one another.
  6. Remember your last name. Mema always tells me when I go out of town, or out for the night to remember my last name because your reputation always follows and preceeds you.
  7. Nobody is the boss of me. Now that she is in her mature years, Mema likes to say why not? Why can’t I do this or that? No one is the boss of me!
  8. Be true to your school. You get what you give and Mema has dedicated much of her life giving back to the Florida State University. It has taught me the importance of philanthropy and how thousands of people can come together for a common greater good of the University.
  9. If it doesn’t work out, God has something better planned. When he closes one door, he opens another. You just have to be patient.
  10. Family is the most important. Friends come and go through life, but family will stick with you through it all.
16 thoughts on “10 Things I have learned from my Grandmother

  1. I spent a wonderfull week with your family in Montana. Mema and I where the senior citizens , but we sure had a great time !

  2. Yes, these are just a few of the reasons we are thankful for our wonderful mother!!!! Lest you forget and don’t “act pretty” she used to say…. I will come down on you “like a ton of bricks”

  3. Pingback: Happy Birthday Mema « becomingmarketable

  4. Pingback: Cheers to One Year of Becoming Marketable « becomingmarketable

Leave a Reply

