Experimenting with overnight oats

I love waking up on a Saturday and having a homemade breakfast ready for me in my refrigerator.

At first I was skeptical of overnight oats because I wasn’t sure it would taste good etc… I tried it once last week in a bowl and that did NOT work! It’s all about a jar with a lid!

I’d love to find more recipes for overnight oats, so if you have some– please share!

For now, I’m sticking to this tasty concoction.

1/2 cup rolled oats
Greek yogurt
Dollop of almond butter
Flax seed
Milk
Dash of brown sugar (why not?)

Just let sit overnight for a night, or two, and enjoy 🙂

20120519-093459.jpg

20120519-093516.jpg

20120519-093528.jpg

20120519-093546.jpg

20120519-093603.jpg

20120519-093618.jpg

6 thoughts on “Experimenting with overnight oats

  1. Yum! I am a big fan of steel-cut oats, for their grainier, more substantive texture. It makes regular old instant oats taste like sugary water! I either leave them in a bowl with some water over night in the fridge or just cook them for what feels like an eternity (but since I’m pretty impatient, I usually try to remember to throw them in water the night before). Definitely worth it!

    As for mix-ins, I usually go with cinnamon, honey, walnuts, and raisins/apples.

Leave a Reply

