Thank you, Dad!

Happy Father’s Day to all of the Dad’s out there, but especially to mine.

It took me awhile to realize just how awesome my dad is.  I thought everyone’s dad spent lots of time with them and took interest in their lives.

My dad always made it a point to make time for me. Starting when I was 12 – years – old he took me on a trip very year — just us two.  Some of my favorite memories are from those trips… Starting with Disney World (standard 12-year-old move) to surprising me with Donna Summer tickets in Boston.  These trips are priceless.

Right after seeing Donna Summer perform!

Snowboarding in Telluride, Co.

One of the things that came out of these trips was realizing his unconditional love for both me and my brother. I know I can call him in the middle of the night and he will be there for me. I cannot thank him enough.

Gib, Dad and I in Chile

He pushed me hard, but encouraged me even harder. I couldn’t have done it without you, Dad!

What are your favorite memories with your dad?

Beers in Utah

Football Season – Go ‘Noles!

Dad visiting me in DC

Graduate School Graduation

4 thoughts on “Thank you, Dad!

  1. I love this. “It took me awhile to realize just how awesome my dad is. I thought everyone’s dad spent lots of time with them and took interest in their lives.” I went through a similar realization several years ago. Sadly that kind of close father-child relationship is rarer than I imagined it to be when I was young. It sounds like we are both very lucky to have dads that are as devoted as our. 🙂

    My favorite memory with my dad is actually an entire summer, when I was 19. I was living at home with my parents, and every day my dad and I would wake up early to power walk for an hour together before we both went to work (his ancient knees can’t run, haha). Sometimes we talked rapidly the whole time, other days we were totally silent. So simple, but it was the best summer ever because we became so much closer.

Leave a Reply

