Banana Bread Goodness

Growing up Mema used to always make us banana bread and I loved going to her house to eat it.  Well I think it’s about time I learned how to make such an easy recipe!

When I got to her house, she had all of the ingredients out and ready, such an all-star grandmother.

Mema told me, This is your most marketable thing yet, just wait till the guys taste this!”

Here is our age old recipe:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1 egg
  • 3 large bananas
  • 2 cups of flour sifted
  • 1 level tsp soda
  • 1/2 cup nuts (we used walnuts)
  • Bake at 275 for an hour to an hour and a half

Mema got this cookbook in the early 50’s. Lots of love in this book. She always says “the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach.”

Measuring the shortening in water.

8 thoughts on “Banana Bread Goodness

  1. Oh dear, you had me at “banana bread.”

    I am sort of obsessed, though quite picky about my recipes. This one looks almost exactly like my favorite! I tend to under-cook it intentionally, because I like it a little gooey in the middle personally (and since I rarely share my banana bread, I only bake it to my own specifications!). I swear, eating banana bread every day is what got me through my marathon training a few years ago.

    Thanks for sharing, Jill!

    • I like it under-cooked as well!

      If I could eat banana bread every day, I’d sign up for a marathon 🙂 Still not sure if I’m ready for anything other than a half at this point. Who knows, we will see!

  2. Well, Mema ought to know the way to a man’s heart. She captivated and fed the best man I have ever known for more than 60 years! I inherited the banana bread addiction gene!

Leave a Reply

