Burning Down The House [corn flake style]

Watch out… you might get what you’re after!

To kick off football season, my roommates and I decided to throw a gameday brunch… little did we know we would endanger our lives. This is what happens when we don’t have my grandmother,  Mema’s, guidance.

We knew we had a large amount of people coming over so we decided to make three breakfast casseroles, pigs-in-a-blanket, fruit and bagels and donuts.  We were proud of ourselves for staying in on a Friday night to prepare all of this food.

As we were getting ready, the casseroles were cooking in the oven.  All of the sudden, one my roommates was screaming from the kitchen. I ran down the hall way to be greeted by smoke billowing out of the oven.

Of course, this was my doing. Who turns the BROIL on and leaves it?! FOR 10 MINUTES — WITH CORN FLAKES ON TOP!?  Mema, might just disown me.

Thank God one of my roommates thought to scrape off the cornflakes, and it was my bright idea to add MORE cheese and MORE corn flakes.  I’m actually pretty proud of that move… In my opinion, cheese makes everything better.

Here was our re-purposed casseroles that got devoured at the brunch.

Crispy Casserole

The Set Up

Hostesses

At the end of the day crispy (charred?) casserole goes pretty well with a mimosa, or two 😉 Cheers to football season!

The Game Day Crew

13 thoughts on “Burning Down The House [corn flake style]

  1. Wow! By my best guess, looks like 31 very happy, well fed faces! You, Sara Noel & Emily did an incredible job. The table looks awesome. Y’all made Mema proud, I say,,,

  2. Haha Jill this cracked me up. Whatever that cornflake concoction is, I want some of it! Looks like you all had a great time. Can’t wait to watch some football soon! (Or stream it on my laptop… or just read the headlines. Sigh.)

  3. Pingback: Whoopie Pie Wonders « becomingmarketable

Leave a Reply

