Start with Moonshine, End with Quiche

Family dinner nights always make for a good time and great blog post.

After a long day of work, I got to my grandmother’s (Mema) house for “make your own quiche night.”

The first thing Mema says is “I made Tennessee Mountain Tea… with Moonshine! Let’s take jiggers!”  For those of you who don’t know what a jigger is, it’s a shot.

IMG_1313 IMG_1315

She pours her moonshine concoction and we all take shots to start our quiche crafting dinner party. You know it will be a good/long night when you start with moonshine. Gotta love the enthusiasm!

IMG_1316 IMG_1318

On to the quiche — glad I learned how to make this easy dish! We picked out our toppings, poked our pie crusts and sauteed our veggies.

IMG_1326 IMG_1323

We whipped up the half and half and eggs until it was thick (almost peaking) and poured it over our toppings.

IMG_1327 IMG_1333 IMG_1334

Topped with cheese, in the oven for 40 minutes at 375 and that’s it! Jiggle it after 40 minutes to see if its firm and you are good to go!

Final product below: I went with mushrooms, broccoli and ham. What is your favorite combination?

IMG_1335

4 thoughts on “Start with Moonshine, End with Quiche

  1. So many things about this make me smile… First, I looove quiche. So much. I think I need to go make some. Secondly, Mema and the moonshine made me laugh out loud! I had never heard the term “jigger” before! Looks like you had a great time. 🙂

Leave a comment