Half Marathoning Adventures

One of my New Years Resolutions was to run a half marathon. I’m definitely not a runner, but after breaking my foot last summer, I wanted to get into shape!

I somehow convinced my best friend Blaire to join in the fun with me. Since she lives in Georgia where we grew up, we had to keep each other motivated via texts and phone calls.

I picked her up from the airport, and we headed down to Clearwater for the Iron Girl Half! We had to deal with horrible storms. Here is the view from my car.

On the count of three, we ran as fast as we could to pick up our race packets… and we got soaked! Hooray for #482 and #475!

We decided to map out our 13.1 mile run. After getting lost quite a few times, we finally made our way around the route.

{THE BIG DAY}

We woke up at 5 in the morning and prayed that the storms would hold off for the race. There was more than 14-hundred runners, so we had to get there early.

Ready for the Iron Girl Race!

The sun started to rise and it was time to take off. Blaire is much faster than me so I let her go on.

I saw this woman in front of me who had a great pace, so I asked if I could join her. With a high five, she said come on! I ran with my new friend Mimi (who has done full marathons in Boston, New York, and San Diego) for the WHOLE race.

I seriously don’t know what I would have done without her. She gave me encouragement along the way and helped me brave the wind, rain, and BRIDGES. Those were killer.

We talked about everything. She was running for her niece Nicole, who is currently battling breast cancer. I felt SO tired, but the whole last mile I kept thinking “Run for Nicole!” I think everyone can relate to having a family member who has dealt with the disease.

What do you run for? Leave a comment and let me know!

When I crossed the finish line, Mimi gave me a huge hug! This is us right after that moment. It was such a great experience and I am so glad I could do it with my best friend and my new friend 🙂

It rained during the race, and right after it started POURING down on us. It was not the clear sky finish we were envisioning, but we will take it!

I think running a half marathon is pretty marketable, what about you?

14 thoughts on “Half Marathoning Adventures

  1. Rain or shine, Jill Chandler is still marketable!!! Looks like all of those early morning runs paid off. So proud of you 🙂

  2. What a great achievement, made so much better by the fact that you enjoyed it and made a new friend along the way. I love half marathons. The distance is still challenging, but with less likelihood of sustaining an injury than a full marathon. Congratulations again and keep us updated on future running goals! (I might just have to join you if you go for a full!).

    – Meghan

    PS- Runners are so über marketable.

    • A full marathon really intimidates me! I feel like if I set my mind to it, I could do it… BUT I’m a little worried about the wear and tear on the body! I will definitely keep you posted. I always love a good running buddy 🙂

Leave a Reply

