Egg Plant Party

A couple of my friends and I take turns cooking dinner every week.  This week it was my turn.  I needed to redeem myself, and I wanted to try something new.

The last time I had them over we ate stale Boca Burgers and gross steamed veggies with no flavor, so I went for the big guns, Eggplant Parmesan!

I didn’t have a recipe, of course, so I texted my Aunt Ginny.  I got a good laugh out of her response to my text:

Oh my cooking fails…  She did send me this awesome AND EASY recipe! I will include it at the end of the post.

Mema came to dinner and the first thing she announced said is:

“I USED TO THINK I WAS A PARTY ANIMAL, BUT I’M NOT SO SURE ANYMORE.”

What? Can this be so?  The woman who has danced on tables? Beat frat boys at beer pong? And taken/served tequila shots at tailgates!?  Is this the apocalypse?

She explains her long weekend of partying from Thursday to Sunday has just worn her out, and we reassured her that she is STILL the same party animal, and it’s OK at 85 to have a few days off 😉

Oh it was great to have her in the kitchen as I chopped and prepped the food.

My problem with cooking is time management. I feel like I should be getting better at this, but I’m just not.  We always sit around waiting for things to finish cooking. That was the case tonight.  I somehow forgot about the whole putting the eggplant in the oven BEFORE putting it in the dish thing.

The dish was super easy! It smelled so good as we were waiting for it to come out, and despite my cooking fails… it turned out amazing!

I definitely recommend this one 🙂  Here is the recipe for the Eggplant Parmesan.

4 thoughts on “Egg Plant Party

Leave a Reply

